Baja California Sur Election Results – The State Went Blue

  • Add Comments
  • Print
  • Add to Favorites


The results are in after the June 7th state elections and Baja California Sur (BCS) went blue! That is right. The National Action Party (PAN) won all but one seat that were up for grabs in BCS. The results made for a historical win for the party and an incredible change for the state.

The PAN ticket in Baja California Sur won both federal deputy seats that were in play, 15 of the 16 local congressional seats, the five mayoral elections (Los Cabos, La Paz, Loreto, Comondu and Mulege) as well as the governorship. Not only did PAN win all but one of the contests in the state, they notably won by a large margin in most ridings.

The lone non-PAN winner of the election was a congressional seat in the northern municipality of Mulege.

The National Action Party founded in 1939, and since the 1980s has been an important political party winning local, state, and national elections. It is one of the three main political parties in Mexico. In 2000, PAN candidate Vicente Fox was the first PAN candidate elected for a six-year Presidential term.

The Institutional Revolutionary Party, or PRI, was the biggest loser in BCS. The party, after successfully playing their “New PRI” card at the federal level with the election of President Enrique Peña Nieto in 2012, couldn’t pull that off in BCS.

The fall of the party in the state might actually be because of Peña Nieto.

For starters, in January of 2014, the federal government under Peña Nieto, increased the sales tax in the state from 11% to 16%. A 5% increase in one shot on most goods and services. People were not happy.

President Peña Nieto claimed he wanted to boost the government’s revenue and reduce economic inequality by creating an unemployment fund and greater financial support for education and infrastructure projects.

But since the increase, the state has seen little in extra funding for education or infrastructure. Unemployment remains high and there has been very little economic growth.

Secondly, public safety and security is at an all time low in La Paz and many blame the federal governments drug policy for the lack of intervention and strategy.

Increased taxes and increased insecurity seemed to have turned voters off in the state with PRI which could explain the big numbers PAN pulled off in the win in all five municipalities.

Now that election campaigns and voting are over, it is time to prepare for a change in government administrations. The new administrations both locally and statewide will be sworn in by September 10th of this year. The 5 new mayors in the state will hold office until 2018 while Governor-Elect Mendoza Davis’ term will be served from 2015 – 2021.

It should be noted that elections also took place on June 7 in other parts of Mexico as well. The country held its 2015 mid-term federal elections which occur every three years, as a halfway point in the six-year presidential term.

At stake in total were 500 federal deputies, nine governors, 17 state legislatures, and 903 municipalities/delegations with 83.5 million Mexicans registered to vote.

add a comment.

Leave a Reply

six + = 12